Visiting Desmond Tutu

I noticed the other day that ebay was auctioning off a three hour lunch with Arch Bishop Desmond Tutu in South Africa (Constantia Uitsig)

with all of the proceeds going to charity to help African children. Wouldn’t that be an awesome trip!

I would talk to him about his experiences in Haiti (I’ve been at the border, and touched it), and South Africa. I would talk to him about solving the world’s problems – about the children in Uganda, and world hunger. I would ask him to explain statements he’s made such as:

“Jesus did not say, ‘If I be lifted up I will draw some’.” Jesus said, ‘If I be lifted up I will draw all, all, all, all, all. Black, white, yellow, rich, poor, clever, not so clever, beautiful, not so beautiful. It’s one of the most radical things. All, all, all, all, all, all, all, all. All belong. Gay, lesbian, so-called straight. All, all are meant to be held in this incredible embrace that will not let us go. All.”

link

It would be an awesome time. Of course I would not agree with him on everything. That is what would make it fun!

But I don’t have the money… I think it will probably go for $5000.

Leave a comment

Filed under Africa, Christianity, Religion

Leave a Reply

