Today is Land on the Moon Day – July 20, 1969 – Apollo 11 lands on the Moon

38 years ago today –  July 20, 1969 Man landed on the moon. The mission was accomplished “before the end of the decade”.

Here is what some other people were doing on that day:

http://www.wherewereyou.com/

I was eight years old, and I remember that we invited the Handels over, who did not have a TV Set, to watch the moon landing on our black and white one.  Everyone was very excited about by this accomplishment. We were sure that man would land on Mars by 2000!

2 Comments

Filed under history, mission, moon, space travel

2 responses to “Today is Land on the Moon Day – July 20, 1969 – Apollo 11 lands on the Moon

  1. I was ALMOST eight years old. I remeber playing out in my front yard and trying to make a race car with a construction set I had. I think the moon was overhead, and I remember looking up, up, up — way up, to see if I could figure out where the astronauts went. Then, I went inside and watched the moon landing with my family on our little 15″ black and white TV.

  2. You have a wonderful blog. May God bless you and Lilian during these difficult times. I am sorry to hear about the death of your mother and I will pray for Lilian and the cancer. Nothing is impossible for God! We have a wonderful hope.

    Psalm 91:1

    Mark

Leave a Reply

