Huckabee and the cross

Here is what Peggy Noonan,  author and speech writer for Ronald Reagan had to say about this commercial (in Wall Street Journal, Dec 22, p W12):

I didn’t see the famous floating cross. What I saw when I watched Mike Huckabee’s Christmas commerical was a nice man in a sweater sitting next to a brightly lit tree… Only on second look did I see the white lines of the warmly lit bookcase, which forms a glowing cross.

I wound up thinking this: This guy is using the cross so that I’ll like him. That doesn’t tell me what he thinks of Jesus, but it does tell me what he thinks of me. He thinks I’m dim. He thinks I will associate my savior with his candidacy. Bleh. 

http://opinionjournal.com/columnists/pnoonan/?id=110011019

1 Comment

Filed under 2008 Election, politics

One response to “Huckabee and the cross

  1. Richard Brock

    I loved what Peggy Noonan wrote in her first paragragh, because what she said was the truth. I did not even notice the “floating cross” the first time through…, I only heard the message spoke by Mike Huckabee. The second time through, I saw and “warmly lit bookcase” that resembles a “warmly lit bookcase” in which dim people living in darkness sadly seem to perceive as a subliminal message to trick them into the light. Bleh!

Leave a Reply

