Book Review – Christ the Lord The Road to Cana

I found the first book in the series (Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt) a difficult read that eventually paid off on my fourth attempt. It is told by Jesus as a young boy (first person). This book had two problems – one is that the story of Jesus’s birth and childhood is well-known, so you would expect it to not have that much suspense (we know that nothing is going to happen to Jesus and Mary for instance), and second of all, Anne Rice normally writes about vampires and should I trust her to write about Jesus – my Jesus.

Slowly – very slowly – she overcame my objections, and I do recommend that book. She does the impossible of describing Jesus as both 100% God and 100% man. It is a discovering who you are type book. I finally listened to it on tape – and the interview with Anne Rice and the post script are worth listening to.

The second book in the series is much more readable. Jesus is now a single man in his thirties and struggling with being poor, being part of a religious community, being single, being a carpenter with a call on his life, having difficulty getting time alone with God, etc. etc. I think all single Christians should read this book. It goes to the wedding at Cana, where Jesus turns the water into wine. Anne Rice pours her very soul into this book and I loved it. It is better than the first book.

 

2 Comments

Filed under books, Christianity, Religion

2 responses to “Book Review – Christ the Lord The Road to Cana

  1. Thanks for your very generous words. Much appreciated. The Road to Cana is making its way slowly into the generous Christian audience, and I am humbly grateful. Take care, Anne.

  2. Anne,

    I am so honored that you left a comment on my blog!

    May God use you and your books to take many from darkness and into light!

    God Bless,
    Mark

Leave a Reply

