7 days of Grace

Sunday:

Give food to the hungry,

O Lord, and

hunger for you

to those who have food.

Monday

God to enfold me, God to surround me

God in my speaking, God in my thinking

God in my sleeping, God in my waking

God in my watching, God in my hoping

God in my life, God in my lips,

God in my soul, God in my heart

God in my sufficing, God in my slumber

God in mine ever-lasting soul, God in mine serenity.

– a Celtic Prayer

Tuesday

Everyone at the table join hands for a silent moment.

or

All who are at the table raise their plates for a quiet moment.

A Quaker Grace

Wednesday

The Lord bless you and keep you

The Lord make his face to shine upon you,

and be generous unto you.

The Lord lift his countenance upon you,

and give you peace

(Numbers 6:24-6)

A blessing given by the High Priest.

Thursday

Lord make me an instrument of your peace,

Where there is hatred, let me sow love;

Where there is injury, pardon;

where there is doubt, fatih;

where there is darkness, light;

and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master; grant that I may not

so much seek to be consoled as to console;

to be understood as to understand;

to be loved as to love

For it in giving that we receive,

it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,

and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.

St Francis of Assisi ( 1182?-1226 )

Friday (TGIF)

Come, let us welcome the Sabbath.

May its radiance illuminate our hearts

as we kindle these tapers (candles)

May the Lord bless us with Sabbath joy,

May the Lord bless us with Sabbath holiness.

May the Lord bless us with Sabbath peace.

Traditional Jewish prayer said on Friday evening (the beginning of the Sabbath)

Saturday

O Lord, bless this food and

protect Muslims from the doom of fire

In the name of God we begin our meal.

Islamic invocation by Mohammad (peace be upon him) – slightly modified

or

O Lord, bless this food and

end the genocide in Darfur

In the name of God we begin our meal.

Sunday

Let there be peace on earth

and let it begin with me.

Let there be peace on earth

and let it begin with me.

Let there be peace on earth

and let it begin with me.

Peace in our – food.

Peace in our – bodies

Peace in our – home

Peace in our world,

Thanks, God. Amen.

Rev Barbara King

Atlanta Ga.

source: One Hundred Graces Selected by Macia and Jack Kelly 1992

Leave a comment

Filed under prayer, Religion

Leave a Reply

