For Better Or For Worse 1979-2008: RIP?

Last Friday’s For Better or For Worse comic strip makes it sound like this is finally the end:

Bride Elizabeth Patterson Caine: IRIS, YOU’VE TAKEN SUCH GOOD CARE OF GRANDPA JIM. HE’S SO LUCKY TO HAVE YOU!

Iris: WE’RE BOTH LUCKY, DEAR

Bride Elizabeth: BUT, SO MANY THINGS HE CAN’T DO FOR HIMSELF NOW – AND YOU’RE WITH HIM, LOOKING AFTER HIM DAY AFTER DAY … IT CAN’T BE EASY

Iris: IT’S NOT EASY.

Iris: BUT WE MADE A COMMITMENT, JUST AS YOU DID TODAY – AND ALTHOUGH IT IS NOT EASY, THIS IS ALL A PART OF LOVING SOMEONE – WITH ALL YOUR HEART … AND WITH ALL YOU HAVE TO GIVE.

Iris: IT’S A PROMISE THAT SHOULD LAST A LIFETIME. IT DEFINES YOU AS A PERSON AND DESCRIBES YOUR SOUL. IT’S A PROMISE TO BE THERE, ONE FOR ANOTHER, NO MATTER WHAT HAPPENS, NO MATTER WHO FALLS…

Iris: FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE, MY DEARS .. FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE.

and then there is an author’s note at the bottom of the strip:

THIS CONCLUDES MY STORY … WITH GRATEFUL THANKS TO EVERYONE WHO HAS MADE THIS ALL POSSIBLE – Lynn Johnston

August 30, 2008 strip

So finally… it’s over! Another comic strip has bit the dust. The twentieth century is finally fully and completely over! Rest in Peace Better or For Worse!!

But then this Monday … it was still there. What is going on?

Lynn Johnston is planning on doing the entire story all over again. I found this on her blog:

To all my wonderful readers,

A couple of weeks ago I drew and sent the last two weeks of dailies, bringing to a close the main storyline of FBorFW. It sure wasn’t easy! I think the drawings were harder to do than the writing, because I’d been thinking about what to say and how to say it for a long time. I had that “running in a dream” feeling, as though I’d never get there, but once the deed was done, I felt strangely comforted; a feeling that I’d done the right thing at the right time.

For the past 7 years or so I was aware that the stories were becoming more complicated, the drawings more controlled and the characters more realistic. Gone was the loose, funny, free-hand line I had started with. As the adventures of the characters became more defined, so did the drawing, until I researched everything, from forklifts to faces, from aircraft to arcades. I was out for accuracy. Every house, every apartment had a floorplan. The furniture and the color schemes had to be consistent- as did the information I gave about the “players”, and if I made an error, you would let me know!

For Better or For Worse begins again on September the 1st with new material, new art and new enthusiasm! Without the need to visit all of the auxiliary characters, I can concentrate once again on the insular little Patterson household. I have the children all to myself again. I can do spot gags and silly stuff. I can fix what I don’t like about my early work as I add and subtract…redraw and just improve everything.

fborfw news blog

So Better or For Worse is not over. It has just restarted with “new-runs”

Washington Post article about For Better or for Worse

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

