McCain and the First Amendment

George Will wrote an interesting editorial on McCain’s view of the first amendment. On the Don Limus’s Radio Show on April 28, 2006, McCain said:

“I work in Washington and I know that money corrupts. And I and a lot of other people were trying to stop that corruption. Obviously, from what we’ve been seeing lately, we didn’t complete the job. But I would rather have a clean government than one where quote First Amendment rights are being respected that has become corrupt. If I had my choice, I’d rather have the clean government.”

to which George Will said:

McCain told Imus that he would, if necessary, sacrifice “quote First Amendment rights” to achieve “clean” government. If on Jan. 20, 2009, he were to swear to defend the Constitution, would he be thinking that the oath refers only to “the quote Constitution”? And what would that mean?

here is the editorial: Our Rights and His Wrongs

1 Comment

Filed under America, politics

One response to “McCain and the First Amendment

Leave a comment